A Lot Going On in the Mirror . . .

I was waiting in the house . . . for my son . . . waiting . . .

“Why are you late?”

“I was looking in the mirror,” he said.

“What?”

“Looking in the mirror.”

“Right.”

“Right, yeah, uh-huh. Just look at me, mom . . . I’ve got a lot happening here.”

“Yeah?”

“See, yeah, right?” he nods assumptively, as if I should already know this.

I swear the way kids talk these days.

So, he walks away from me.  And, I am still standing there . . . waiting . . .

“What are you doing?” I ask him.

“I’m looking in this mirror here,” and he points to the mirror in the entry. He has now gone from the upstairs mirror in his bathroom, now to the downstairs mirror next to me.

But, it’s really as if I am not there at all.

“Yeah, so?”

“Yeah, mom, looking in the mirror here. Checking me out.” he says . . . “This may take a while . . . ”

He smiles into mirror. Does a little smirky thing that is supposed to entice another 14-year old girl to join his harem. He tosses his head, and his hair lands in the perfect skater-boy swish to the side of his face. He does a chin nod, to confirm his studliness. He is entranced by his own boyish “Man”liness. So bewitched, that he is not moving.

“Uh . . . Okay, honey. Well . . . uh . . . I ‘m going to go into the other room and watch TV,” and I begin to walk down the hall. “Are you going to come with me?”

“Is there a mirror in there?”

“Uh . . . yeah.”

He starts to follow me. Still in his 14-year old year old innocence, in 20-feet he will know that I lied. Poor thing. I guess he’ll have to watch the TV instead.

Aaaaaah. To be 14 again.

I guess he’s got a lot going on there . . .

Gotcha! He’s such a funny kid.

Unfortunately, he barely looks in the mirror. That, and the shower, another aversion of the 14-year old male soul.

Be well,

Belle

So, y’all come back, now. Ya’ hear?

Bookmark and Share

S. Belle Karper, Author, Speaker www.BelleKarper.com
THE WIDOW WEARS BLACK – An Edgy Memoir from an Outspoken Survivor
Check out S. Belle Karper’s – Beauties and Beasts – Blog! Baby! Blog!
Belle Karper Face Book & the popular Twitter-Belle – all on Website

S. Belle Karper

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About SheriBelle

Award-Winning Author & Screenwriter

Leave a Reply

